"Sligo Mental Health Services / Markievicz House"

About: Sligo Adult Community Mental Health Services

(as a service user),

The mental health professional I’ve been working with for the past few months was taken off of their duty in Markievicz House. This came at an incredibly difficult time as I had just had a very intense session which left me in a very bad state after its completion. 

I understand that with the outbreak of Covid-19, theres a rush on right now to get all available staff to the GAA grounds and work to fight the spread of this infection but with that said, please understand how difficult it is for us in Mental Health Services who overnight, lost our connection to the service and are now in limbo. I consider myself one of the lucky ones because I am, in large part, past some of the most difficult parts of starting out using the service but I think of people who have just started (and are often at their worst at this time) and now, after taking the step to get better, suddenly have nobody to work with.

Responses

Response from Martin Jones, Alcohol & Substance Misuse Service Manager, Sligo Leitrim Mental Health Services, Health Service Executive

picture of Martin Jones

Dear Crom,

Thank you for taking the time to tell your story and give your feedback especially during what is a challenging time for us all. I can completely understand that you had made a connection with someone from our service, and now it is not possible to continue seeing this person for now. I do hope, however, that you are able to continue your recovery journey.

Best Wishes,

Martin

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful