This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"1 year waitlisted for Family Therapy..."

About: Sligo/Leitrim Mental Health Services / Sligo Adult Community Mental Health Services

(as a carer),


Being listened to

Being listened to

Last year (September/Oct 2022) was an awful year for me and my family.  Specifically my husband and I went through a difficult time (he suffered major depression/anxiety) and we ASKED for help. I just now received a letter from the Systemic Family Therapy Team asking if we're still interested in this service and that we have to call a number by 6th of October.  This is ridiculous and embarrassing for the Irish Mental Health system.  Luckily we pulled through this horrible time with NO help.  Many couples would not have lasted, but we did.  Covid showed the need for more mental health practitioners and also more beds in hospitals.  Have any of these issues been addressed?  Nope.  Everything in this country moves at a snails pace in our experience. Shameful.  

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Health Service Executive 4 months ago
Submitted on 11/10/2023 at 15:53
Published on Care Opinion at 15:53


Dear Tinyfinn,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your disappointment with the Family therapy waiting list situation. It is regrettable that we were not in a position to offer your appointment sooner and we understand your frustrations. However, we remain available to offer yourself & your husband the appointment now. Please don't hesitate to contact us on 071 91 55120.

Kind Regards,

Mary & Marina

Mary McMorrow & Marina O Brien, Registered Systemic Family Psychotherapists, AMHS

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k